CAC-WP Meeting 2019

November 20-21, 2019

2nd Advisory Committee Meeting

National Water Center - Tuscaloosa, Alabama

The CAC-WP held its second meeting at the National Water Center in late November, 2019. The meeting provided the Committee and invited guests with a comprehensive overview of progress and status of the then-current National Water Model (NWM) (v.2.0, implemented May 2019), and related activities of the National Water Center (NWC). The NWC coordinates, facilitates, and integrates development activities across National Weather Service hydrologic activities, supervising 140 employees in three locations: Chanhassan, Minnesota; Silver Spring, Maryland, and Tuscaloosa, Alabama.

The NWC provides critical support for 13 River Forecast Centers (RFCs) and 142 weather forecast offices (FOs) across the country, as well as essential support for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Cross-agency collaboration has resulted in agreement among the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE), United States Geological Survey (U.S.G.S), FEMA, and NOAA OWP for development of one coordinating flood inundation mapping activity, to be mediated by the National Water Center. The development spotlights the need for broader application of the NWM in operational settings, and reveals increased community interest for access to and participation in helping to further refine NWM parameters and capacity. 


Report: CAC-WP_2nd_Meeting_Final_Report_Revision_02-20-2020


1. CAC-WP Update and Office of Water Prediction Strategic Vision - Thomas Graziano, Ed Clark

2. National Water Model Ecosystem - David Gochis

3. NWM - Community O2R-R2O (2 slides) - David Gochis 

4. Group 1 Breakout - In Situ and Remotely Sensed Data - Harry Cikanek, Trey Flowers, Matt Ables, Jerad Bales

5. Group 2 Breakout - Physiographic Data Sets - Fred Ogden, Shelley Thawley, Dave Tarboton, Rick Hooper, Roy Rasmussen

6. Group 3 Breakout - Flood Inundation Mapping - Pat Burke, Michael Lowry, David Maidment, Joe Nimmich, Ahmad Tavakoly, Tom Graziano, Ed Clarke, Steve Kopp, Fernando Aristazabal, Clint Dawson