8th International Symposium on Stratified Flows (ISSF)


Special Sessions honoring sustained commitments to the study of stratified flows

There will be four special sessions honoring the sustained contributions to the field of stratified flows of some of our esteemed colleagues. One special session will be held each day of the Symposium. Contributed presentations for these sessions will be chosen by the Scientific Committee. However, if your work has particular relevance to one of the honorees or you would particularly like to present in one of these sessions, please send an email with your request to kraig@coast.ucsd.edu and we will try to accommodate your request.

We are very pleased to announce the four honorees for the VIIIth Symposium:

Photo of Emil Hopfinger

Emil Hopfinger

View Biography

Professor Emil Hopfinger has contributed to three major areas in fluid mechanics: Stratified flows, waves, gravity currents and mixing; Rotating flows and vortex dynamics; Turbulence, interfacial instabilities and atomisation. He has served as Director of the Laboratoire des Ecoulements Geophysiques et Industriel (LEGI), and as scientific advisor of French and international research committees, scientific councils and editorial boards, including J. Fluid Mechanics, Annual Reviews Fluid Mechanics, Physics of Fluids and Fluid Dynamics Research. He Chaired the APS Fluid Dynamics Prize committee, has been a Founding member of the Euromech, European Mechanics Association, and at present is Chairman of its Fluid Mechanics Prize committee. Noteworthy is the number of PhD students (45) and the large number of highly cited publications. In 2006 he was distinguished with the Euromech Fluid Mechanics Prize.

Photo of Paul Linden

Paul Linden

View Biography

Professor Linden’s body of research has focused on environmental fluid mechanics, broadly interpreted. He has undertaken laboratory and theoretical studies of fundamental rotating, stratified fluid dynamical processes with an eye toward diverse applications in oceanic, estuarine and atmospheric flows as well as in the mass and heat transport in low-energy buildings. Professor Linden has served as the Director of the Fluid Dynamics Laboratory at DAMTP, Chair of the MAE Department at UCSD and is currently a Deputy Editor at the Journal of Fluid Mechanics.

Photo of Larry Redekopp

Larry Redekopp

View Biography

Professor Larry Redekopp has been a profound influence in many of our research lives. He has done this through pioneering and fundamental research on nonlinear waves, and in stability theory. He was one of the original progenitors of the global stability analyses that led to distinguishing absolute and convective instability modes in fluid flows. His work on long internal wave generation/propagation in long deep stratified lakes has guided an entire research field for 20 years. He has worked on difficult problems in solitary waves, particle suspension and on internal wave propagation in density-stratified flows, amongst many others.

Photo of James Riley

James Riley

View Biography

Professor Riley has been involved in the study of density-stratified flows since the mid 1970s. He has held academic positions in Engineering, Applied Mathematics and Aeronautics and Astronautics as well as senior positions in industry. Professor Riley has been active in Editing our research, serving as an Associate Editor for the Journal of Fluid Mechanics, the Journal of Turbulence, Applied Mechanics Reviews and on the Editorial Committee of the Annual Review of Fluid Mechanics. He has served as Chair of the American Physical Society, Division of Fluid Dynamics and on numerous national advisory committees.

Plenary Presentations

The ISSF Scientific and Organizing Committees are pleased to announce the five invited speakers for the plenary sessions of the VIIIth ISSF. These 50 minute presentations will be of general interest to the Symposium and take place in the Crown Room of the Hotel Del Coronado, generally as the first and last sessions of the day.

Arezoo Ardekani, Purdue University 

Colm Caulfield, University of Cambridge 

Pascale Garaud, University of California Santa Cruz 

Bruce Sutherland, University of Alberta 

Hans van Haren, Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research   

The first plenary session will be the IAHR Fluid Mechanics Committee Lecture which will be the inaugural session of the Symposium:

Harindra Joseph Fernando, University of Notre Dame

Organizing Committees

Organizing Committee

Larry Armi, Co-Chair University of California San Diego, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Kraig Winters, Co-Chair University of California San Diego, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Eckart Meiburg University of California Santa Barbara
Geno Pawlak University of California San Diego
Geoff Spedding University of Southern California


Scientific Committee

Arezoo Ardekani Purdue University
Colm Caulfield University of Cambridge
Claudia Cenedese Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Jean-Marc Chomaz CNRS-Ecole Polytechnique (LadHyX)
Peter Diamessis Cornell University
Joe Fernando University of Notre Dame
JanBert Flor LEGI Grenoble
Morris Flynn University of Alberta
Pascale Garaud University of California Santa Cruz
Emil Hopfinger LEGI Grenoble
Greg Ivey University of Western Australia
Jeff Koseff Stanford University
Greg Lawrence University of British Columbia
Philip Marcus University of California Berkeley
Patrice Meunier IRPHE, Marseille University
Stephen Monismith Stanford University
Yarko Nino Universidad de Chile
Roger Nokes University of Canterbury
Jim Riley University of Washington
Sutanu Sarkar University of California San Diego
Alberto Scotti University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
GertJan Van Heist Eindhoven University of Technology
Mathew Wells University of Toronto
Alfred (Johny) Wuest Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne



Thank you to our generous supporters


The Cecil H. Ida M. Green Foundation for Earth Sciences logo USC Viterbi logo
UC San Diego Jacobs School of Engineering logo Climate, Atmospheric Sciences and Physical Oceanography, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UCSD logo
University of California Santa Barbara (UCSB) College of Engineering  NSF logo

Logo   Logo   Logo   Scripps logo   UCSB logo   NSF logo