4th Eddy Cross-Disciplinary Symposium

Sun, Earth, Planet, Space, Atmosphere, Ocean

mountain with low clouds and sunset background
Oct. 29 to Nov. 3, 2023

8:18 am – 5:18 pm MDT

Golden, CO
Main content

Early Registration Deadline: Friday, September 15, 2023

Featured Speakers include:

Vladimir Airapetian - Exoplanets
Amitava Bhattacharjee - Open Science
Jim Colliander - Open Science
Craig DeForest - Space Weather
Jennifer Gannon - Space Weather
Greg Kopp - Sun Climate
Gavin Schmidt - Sun Climate
Xudong Sun - Exoplanets

Solicited Speakers include:

Tzu-Wei Fang - Space Weather
Andres Munoz - Sun Climate
Tasha Snow - Open Science
Eric Wolf - Exoplanets


The Golden Hotel
800 11th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Hotel Phone: 303-279-0100

Important Deadlines

  • Student Travel Funding Application / Abstract Deadline: Tuesday, August 29th, 2023
  • Early Registration Deadline: Friday, September 15, 2023
  • Hotel Special Rate / GSA Reservation cut-off date: Friday, September 15, 2023
  • Abstract Submission Deadline: Friday, September 29, 2023
  • Final Registration Deadline:  Friday, October 13, 2023
  • Deadline to Add Guests for Evening Events or Cancel with Refund (minus $15): Friday, October 20, 2023

We are seeking presentations. Please submit an abstract.

Event Description

This event continues the legacy of the frontier-thinking, cross-disciplinary gathering that the Eddy Symposia have come to define. The overarching theme of the 4th Eddy Symposium is “Why Grand Challenges in Solar Terrestrial Physics Require Open Science and how to achieve it?”

Please join us this fall to engage in frontier scientific discussions as we address the application of Open Science through four focused areas:

  • Open Science Methods: Emerging Open Science Methodologies 
  • The Interconnection of Sun, Climate, and Society 
  • Risk and Resiliency to Space Weather Disruption 
  • (Exo)Planetary Atmosphere: the Impact of Stars and Solar Physics on Habitability & Life

4th Eddy Cross-Disciplinary Steering Committee

Dan Marsh (co-chair), Ryan McGranaghan (co-chair), Erika Palmerio, King-Fai Li, Ankush Bhaskar, Meng Jin, Jim Colliander, Rajesh Gupta, and Madhulika Guhathakurta, NASA Program Manager

Symposium Contacts

If you have questions pertaining to the Symposium, please contact Kate Rodd
If you have logistics questions, please contact Keri Dawn Solner


NASA logo      CPAESS logo