2023 NASA Jack Eddy Postdoctoral Fellows!

May 2, 2023


2023 NASA Jack Eddy Postdoctoral Fellows

Welcome 2023 NASA Jack Eddy Postdoctoral Fellows (left to right); Robert Jarolim, Devojyoti Kansabanik, Mei-Yun Lin, Charlotte Waterfall, and Peijin Zhang.

UCAR | CPAESS and NASA are excited to welcome five new postdoctoral fellows who will be beginning their interdisciplinary research projects contributing to the field of heliophysics. These fellows are the new 2023-2024 class of NASA’s Jack Eddy Postdoctoral Fellowship, supported by NASA's Living With a Star Program (LWS)  and selected by the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR)’s  Cooperative Program for the Advancement of Earth System Science (CPAESS)

Established in 2009, this prestigious fellowship program is named after pioneering solar researcher John A. “Jack” Eddy.  The two-year fellowship is designed to train the next generation of heliophysics researchers. It matches early-career PhDs with experienced scientists at U.S. host research institutions. 

Dr. Lika Guhathakurta, lead program scientist for NASA’s Living With a Star Program (LWS 2001-2016) worked with and admired Eddy for years. He had been a consultant to the LWS program, and both he and Guhathakurta championed interdisciplinary study of the Sun’s relationship to Earth. After his death in 2009, Guhathakurta paid Eddy tribute by naming the new LWS postdoctoral fellowship after him. Of the fellowship, Lika shared “After a two year hiatus the Jack Eddy Fellowship Program is back in full force with the selection of five stellar candidates and new host institutions to chart the path of interdisciplinary science."

UCAR | CPAESS is honored to manage the NASA Jack Eddy Postdoctoral Fellowship. We have partnered with NASA since 2006 working to foster heliophysics as an integrated science, teaching a new generation of researchers to engage in cross-disciplinary research and communication. ” said Hanne Mauriello, Director of UCAR's Scientific Partnerships and Services Center (SPS) and CPAESS.

Heliophysics embraces all science aspects of the Sun-Solar System, and includes many of the basic physical processes found in our solar system, the laboratory, and throughout the universe. These processes generally involve the interactions of ionized gases (plasmas) with electromagnetic and gravitational fields, and to some extent with neutral matter. The physical domain of interest ranges from deep inside the Sun to the beginning of interstellar medium as well as planetary atmospheres including Earth's upper atmosphere. Within this broad science discipline, LWS is a program designed to develop the scientific understanding required for the nation to address effectively those aspects of the Sun-Earth system that affect life and society. Two major topics of focus for LWS are the science of space weather and of the Sun-climate connection.

Each fellow will research at a host institution typically other than their Ph.D. university, with a mentor for two years. The goal of this postdoctoral program is to train Sun-Earth system researchers that cross the traditional Heliophysics subdomains of the Sun, heliosphere, magnetosphere, and ionosphere/upper atmosphere, as well as Sun-climate investigations.

A sincere congratulations to our new fellows!

2023 NASA Jack Eddy Postdoctoral Fellowship Awardees

Peijin Zhang

Host: Dr. Bin Chen of New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark, NJ

PhD Institution: University of Science and Technology of China (USTC)

Proposal: Radio Imaging Spectroscopy for CMEs and CME-driven Shocks


Charlotte Waterfall

Host: Dr Georgia deNolfo of Goddard Space Flight Center NASA

PhD Institution: University of Manchester, UK

Proposal: Bad news travels fast: energetic particle transport in the heliosphere


Robert Jarolim

Host: Dr. Matthias Rempel at NCAR | HAO

PhD Institution: University of Graz

Proposal: Physics-informed neural networks for the simulation of solar magnetic fields


Devojyoti Kansabanik

Host: Dr. Angelos Vourlidas at The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

PhD Institution: National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research

Proposal: Remote Sensing of CME-entrained Magnetic Fields


Mei-Yun Lin

Host: Dr. Andrew R. Poppe at the University of California, Berkeley

PhD Institution: University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Proposal: From Ionosphere or Moon? A Comprehensive Study of Metallic Ions in the Magnetosphere


Learn more about the NASA Jack Eddy Postdoctoral Fellows and alumni as well as the fellowship, and NASA’s partnership with UCAR | CPAESS.

Article use
Announcement display dates